How can we help?

Sign in

I Was Charged Double for the Same Trip

Bolt performs a temporary card verification hold for newly added cards. It is done to check your card’s validity and minimise any fraudulent use of your card and information.

This hold of money (authorisation) is never charged to your account, but it can be listed as a pending charge that is either returned immediately or within 14 days, depending on your bank. If the amount has not been released after 14 days, please contact your bank or financial institution.

The authorisation fee can also be held for a cancelled ride. 

Card verification hold can fail for the following reasons: 

  • You have insufficient funds on your account
  • Your bank doesn’t allow a transaction
  • The system notices suspicious card activity.

If it fails, you won’t be able to request a trip. In this case, please contact our Support team.

Was this article helpful?