How can we help?

Sign in

Vehicle Requirements

Metropolitan Cities 

Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban

Vehicle Categories:

  • Johannesburg: Go, Classic, XL, Premium and Van
  • Cape Town: Go, Classic, XL and Premium 
  • Durban: Go, Classic and XL

Accepted vehicles: 

Category: Bolt Go

  • 2010+ 4 door hatchbacks
  • 2010 - 2012 4 door sedans, SUV's, and 6-7 seaters

Category: Bolt Classic

  • 2013+ 4 door sedans and SUVs

Category: Bolt XL 

  • 2013+ 6-7 seaters

Category: Bolt Van 

  • 2013+ 8-11 seaters

Category: Bolt Premium 

  • 2013+ luxury sedans, SUVs, 6 - 11 seater vehicles

Remote Cities 

East London, Emalahleni, Ermelo, Garden Route, Grahamstown, Kimberley, Mbombela, Mthatha, Phuthaditjaba, Mahikeng, Pietermaritzburg, Polokwane, Potchefstroom, Port Elizabeth, Queenstown, Rustenburg, Thohoyandou, Upington and Welkom.

Vehicle Categories: Go and Classic (All cities)

Accepted vehicles:

Category: Bolt Go 

  • 2010+ 4 door hatchbacks

Category: Bolt Classic 

  • 2010+ 4 door sedans, SUVs and 6 - 11 seater vehicles

Category: XL

  • 2010+ 6-7 seater vehicles

Vehicle Requirements: Applies to Metropolitan and Remote cities.

  • The vehicle must have less than 100 000 km on the clock
  • The vehicle must be in good cosmetic condition
  • The vehicle must pass the TRA 45 point inspection.

Note: You should provide the required documents when registering a new vehicle to operate on the Bolt platform.

Was this article helpful?